Junior Reggae
These Lines

Release date: 10/18/2019

Slow & Steady Records announces the release of Bay Area “avant-dub” band Junior Reggae’s debut album, These Lines. Led by multi-instrumentalist Rob Ewing, the project at its core is a modern jazz quartet, but one that bridges the sounds and styles of roots reggae and dub – in particular early innovators Augustus Pablo and Lee “Scratch” Perry – with additional inspirations from 20th century classical music, improvised music, and mindfulness practices, all into a singular, organic sound. Junior Reggae brings together a number of the Bay Area’s most creative musical minds: Max Miller-Loran on trumpet and keyboards, Steve Blum on keyboards, Jason Levis on drums and percussion, Rob Ewing on bass, trombone, keyboards, and percussion, and special guests Cory Wright on clarinet, Jordan Samuels on guitar, and Elizabeth Shuman on voice.

Recorded by John Finkbeiner at New, Improved Recording. November 21 and 22, 2017
Mixed and Mastered by Myles Boisen at Guerrilla Recording/Headless Buddha Mastering Lab.

Art by Jesse Rimler.

Max Miller-Loran - Trumpet, Keyboards
Steve Blum - Keyboards
Rob Ewing - Bass, Trombone (8), Keyboards (5)
Jason Levis - Drums

Also featuring:

Cory Wright (3,4,7) clarinet and bass clarinet
Jordan Samuels (8) guitar
Elizabeth Shuman (8) voice

Additional Percussion: Jason Levis and Rob Ewing

Beth Beauchamp